Don't let the name fool you, no fearsome creature hides in this bottle. Just a clean, crisp (yet soft) Chardonnay.

In addition to food, I also enjoy trying all kinds of low-budget wine. Normally my husband and I are red wine fans, but we also occasionally enjoy an unoaked Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blancs, dry Rieslings or sparkling wines.

We picked this out randomly (and based on price,) and the 2008 Dragon’s Hollow Chardonnay from China was pretty much what we like in a Chardonnay:

1) NOT oaky
2) clean
3) delicious with or without food
4) cheap

Simple criteria, but isn’t this all anyone really wants in a good wine? :) It’s pretty clean and a little on the light side, but also has red apple and soft vanilla-ey characteristics. At around $8 a bottle, this was an incredible bargain. And aside from what I use for cooking, it is my first Chinese wine!

