The fresh ginger, sweet dates and tart cherries weren't enough to forgive the mealy texture of this Macintosh.

My sister and brother-in-law were coming over as our first official guests for dinner in our new old home. Knowing he wasn’t a big chocolate fan, I decided to make an apple dessert that wasn’t too difficult but still looked impressive. This would be my first attempt at baked apples, and the recipe was pretty easy to follow, so nothing could go wrong, right? Wrong!

I stuffed my hollowed-out apples with a delicious ginger-spiked fruit & nut filling, baked them at the allotted time, plated them, took a few pictures, then sat down to sample my creation.

Ugh…this apple didn’t taste so good. And didn’t look so good, either! The texture was incredibly mealy, and I was sorely disappointed (I was too distracted by the mealy apple to take pictures, but if you can envision a mushy but dry looking concoction then yes, that was the innards of my baked apples.)

“What kind of apples did you use?” my brother-in-law asked. “Macintosh,” I said. “Ohhh, well there you go. You should’ve used Granny Smith.”

Yes, I am not experienced with apples. After moving to New York I hadn’t realized how many varieties of apples were available, it was incredibly overwhelming. I had to resort to reading the little cards that labeled each variety. “Tart crisp, great for snacking.” “Sweet, like a pear.” “Great snack for kids.” In the end, I selected a bag of Macintosh apples because I’ve never tried them and they were only 89 cents a pound. And also because of the computer brand. :) Well, I like them fine raw. And I added some chopped apple to Ranting Chef’s Cinnamon Roll Cake recipe, which came out great. But as a baked apple? I don’t know what went wrong.

Sigh…well, next time I try to make baked apples I’ll take by brother-in-law’s suggestion and go with Granny Smiths. But first, I’ll test it on my husband before serving it to guests.

