Happy WIAW, everyone! Jenn at Peas and Crayons has brought us another opportunity to share some tasty bites and great recipes with everyone, so please check out her site to see what everyone’s been snacking on lately…it just might be something you’re craving!

The week went by so fast, and I somehow feel a bit more disorganized than usual. I didn’t have a game plan for today’s WIAW, particularly for this month’s theme, so instead of a new recipe I will reintroduce some of my favorite healthy snacks  inspired by other bloggers and favorite recipes.

I woke up with a crazy sweet tooth and actually considered making a batch of chocolate chip cookies for breakfast! But instead of cookies, I ended up having a piece of toast with Nutella, a blob of vanilla coconut cream, strawberries and crunchy peanut butter:

This filled me up quite a bit, but I think I would have been better off with a green shake.

Lunch was leftovers from yesterday’s dinner. It’s just a throw-together veggie soup, nothing extravagant, but it was perfect for today’s cloudy, rainy weather:

Instead of rice, I added some broken pieces of sprouted grain spaghetti.

My snack was a bit of cheesecake (it was messy so I didn’t take a photo,) coffee, and Golden Oreos. My sweet tooth was satisfied, but this snack was a big mistake because shortly after I started to feel incredibly sleepy. This always happens when I eat dairy and wheat products, which is why I can fall asleep right after eating a bowl of cereal for breakfast! My cravings overrode my common sense–never a good thing! :(

As tasty as they are, tiny snacks like these can really knock me out (zzzz….)

I had some chicken in the fridge that needed some attention so made Moroccan Chicken Tagine, a deliciously spicy and savory North African stew posted by REM Cooks. I love spices and have 20 bottles of different spices next to the stove, including two versions of Ras el Hanout that he provided the recipes for…thanks, Richard! I made my version with a mix of black eyed peas, black beans and pinto beans instead of chickpeas:

Tagine is the traditional stoneware used, but a Dutch oven works great, too!

Delicious and savory, sweet and spicy, you gotta try this recipe!

Here are some of my favorite healthy snack recipes. They’re easy to make, stores nicely in the fridge or freezer, and can be enjoyed by those on gluten-free, wheat-free, dairy-free diets! They taste great, and even if you’re not on a special diet, you will enjoy them just as much as a regular snack, maybe even more. :)

Fudgy Cocoa Bites made with dates, raisins, nuts, and cocoa:

Deliciously fudgy cocoa bites

Lemon Coconut Hemp Seed Bites from Gabby at  The Veggie Nook:

Lemon Coconut Hemp Seed Bites

And lastly, this Carrot Apple Ginger Cake, which is great for breakfast or with afternoon coffee or tea. It’s packed with real apples and carrots, fresh ginger, and has a lot less sugar and oil than regular cakes…and, it’s wheat-free!

Carrot apple ginger cake topped with goat cheese & a drizzle of ginger-infused agave syrup…yum!

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you have a happy and healthy Wednesday!

