I am really surprised at how fast the two weeks (plus extra rest days) have flown by in month 2 of Insanity. It hasn’t been easy and it certainly hasn’t been boring, but I can honestly say that every day is challenging and I’m noticing some physical improvements:

– I can button my pants without sucking my gut in
– the seams aren’t straining on my pants when I sit down
– I got muscle definition in my upper arms
– digestion has improved and I’m not as bloated in the morning

As I mentioned earlier, I did lose 3 pounds after the first month of Insanity (hooray!) and I’ve gotten more muscular and definitely feel stronger, too! When I ask my husband for a massage, I don’t whimper anymore when he squeezes my aching shoulders (do note that the amount of force he used to use on me was barely enough to pop bubble wrap.) Now, my knotted shoulders can handle the massages and I don’t feel like such a weenie.

My workout days don’t correspond to the scheduled Insanity calendar because of all the days I took off here and there. I don’t feel like I slacked but at least I don’t feel like I’m forcing myself to do it “just because.” It’s gotta be fun, right? :)

Thursday: Fit Test and Max Interval Circuit — Improvement!
When I did this same routine two weeks ago it was INCREDIBLY tiring, and today felt the same. After doing the Fit Test, even the warm-ups for the Max Interval Circuit was a challenge! My legs were tired, my arms were tired, and I moved nearly half as fast as the people on the DVD. But after a few minutes my blood was pumping again, and I was able to pick up the pace just a bit.

Oh yeah, Fit Test Results! Let me just say that I was actually cheering myself when I wrote down my results, and you can see why:

a LOT of improvement this week!

Some moves were still tough to improve upon, but overall I am a happy camper!

I feel so incredibly happy and accomplished, I’m not even going to talk about the rest of the butt-whipping workout. :)

Friday: Max Interval Plyo

I started my workout late in the afternoon, around 5:15 (I try to do it around lunchtime) and I normally like to do it before my husband gets home because I’m self-conscious about how I look when I exercise (tired, struggling, maybe grunting/whining too much.) but after I was done I told my husband, “Did you see me do push-ups??” He said no, because he knows how much I hate an audience. ;)

Monday: Max Cardio Conditioning & Cardio Abs

I don’t like Football Sprints.You’re running in place with a wide stance, palms facing outward. All that quick-stepping makes my body jiggle. Note to self: next time, tighter clothes!

image source: fitbomb.com

Tuesday: Core Cardio & Balance (supposed to be Max Recovery)

My shoulder felt tender so instead of doing Max Recovery I did Core Cardio & Balance today. My body felt like jello. I had very little energy, my muscles were fatigued even before I was done with the warm-up, and I blame it on poor food choices.

So pretty, but NOT the breakfast of champions. :(

Breakfast: rice krispies treats and coffee.
Lunch: corn chips, salsa and refried beans.

Lesson of the day: a good diet is just as important as good exercise!

Wednesday: Max Interval Circuit

I had more energy today than yesterday, and I made sure to eat a healthy breakfast (yogurt bowl) instead of eating just corn chips and rice krispies treats. My muscles didn’t feel as fatigued, but the workout was still challenging. Transitioning from the high-low jabs to high knees was tough. I couldn’t get enough air in my lungs so had to give my torso a good stretch and take a few deep breaths.

Friday: Max Recovery (supposed to be Core Cardio & Balance) PLUS Pure Cardio!

Yesterday I was busy with work and cleaning up around the house and didn’t have time for Insanity. Yes, it sounds like a poor excuse, but that’s the only excuse I have.

Max Recovery is all about stretching and strengthening. It’s difficult for me because I need a good warm up to get my blood pumping and my muscles flexible, so today I decided to get a really good warm up with Month 1’s Pure Cardio (about 37 minutes.) It paid off, because I felt better doing Max Recovery. Stretches in the beginning were still difficult, probably because I rested too long between DVDs, but overall I felt better doing the workout.

I started using Sunwarrior Protein Powder because so many people were raving about it. The first time I tried it I thought it was the grossest thing I ever tasted! Think of ginseng and licorice mixed together, and that’s what I thought the vanilla protein powder tasted like. Blech.

Solution? Add cinnamon and a ton of ice to make a slushie! I even added pumpkin pie spice, but it tastes nothing like the holiday treat:

84 calories per serving, but the taste may not be for everyone. Modify to your liking!

I think I’ll try the chocolate flavor next…in a smaller bag.

I’ve got one more week left for Insanity and I’m feeling excited, hopeful, anxious, and just want to DO BETTER! Can I be stronger? Faster? Can i jump higher and do more push-ups? We’ll see at the end of week 8!

