a good thing to keep in mind!

image source: fitfoodieshealthylife.com

This is the final week before “Recovery Week,” which divides Month 1 from the even more intense Month 2 training. So far I’ve noticed I’ve gotten stronger, my cardio has definitely improved, and with my changed eating habits I no longer wake up with a bloated belly–what a great feeling!

Day 19: Pure Cardio/Cardio Abs – Weight loss concerns

Though my weight loss is taking its time, I’ve been really happy with my increase in strength and endurance. I came across this video clip at teambeachbody.com talking about seeing results. Though it’s aimed at P90X, I figure it can also apply to Insanity workouts: http://www.teambeachbody.com/connect/message-boards/-/message_boards/message/205114284. According to the discussion, day 19 would still be early on in the game to see results (but I do love that I can feel the results!) He mentions to cut out refined carbs and sugars to help lose weight, but I still love having some Orange Date Cake or Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins with coffee,  and peanut butter jelly toast for breakfast is my favorite!

Pure Cardio is a nonstop heart-bursting set, so again, very important to take breaks when you need to, and if you’re exercising on hardwood floors like me–mop up your sweat or move around to a dry spot, I still have a tendency to slip in my sweat, especially when doing the Level 2 drills (plank, 8 push-ups, knees in, jump up w/ arms up, back down to plank, etc.) At one point I had to stop to receive a package from the Fed Ex guy, and this gave me a nice break so I did better on the hooks w/ jump ropes (below) but it also strained my back a little! Long periods of rest feel good at first, but they’re not good if you’re doing Insanity!

Day 20: Cardio Power & Resistance – exercise, diet, and spankin’ new shoes!

I am getting better. I know this because:

1) I don’t hate Globe Jumps so much
2) Power Jacks (jumping jacks with a squat) are still tough, but I can do more
3) I can do more consecutive Power Jumps
4) I can do moving push-ups almost at the same speed at the people on the DVD!

Last week I was complaining that I wasn’t losing weight, and it’s because my calorie intake was too high. Doing Insanity may feel like you’re burning 500 calories in one workout, but for someone with a small frame like me, I only burn about 220, maybe as much as 300 if I’m doing Pure Cardio and Cardio Abs back to back. I decided to monitor my calories, not by writing down everything I eat, but sticking with low-calorie, nutrient dense foods as much as possible. I’ve been taking in 1200 – 1500 calories a day, avoiding post-dinner snacks and eating lean meats like chicken breast and fish. I know meat has protein and it’s good for your muscles, but eating more meat doesn’t always work for me (my stomach increases by 4 inches after eating red meats…it’s very uncomfortable and I get extremely tired.) So, I’m looking for alternatives. Not replacements, but just easy alternatives.

Veggie sources of protein are often high in fat and carbs (legumes, nuts) so that was not much help, either. Since protein is made up of amino acids, and amino acids can be found in lots of low-calorie and nutrient dense foods, I realized I could just eat a good variety of fruits, veggies & some grains to get the same building blocks that will eventually help my muscles grow. I don’t know if this will work for me, but it seems to make sense!

I am still learning about this stuff, and I think it’s great that I don’t have to worry if I don’t get enough protein per day…there’s always aminos! Here’s an article that I found very helpful, I hope you find it helpful, too:
http://www.rawfoodia.com/raw-food-protein.html
http://www.globalhempstore.com/hemp-food/raw-protein-lean-body.html

My new shoes came in! This is what I got:

Ryka Transition Women’s Cross-Training Shoe (image source: shopping.yahoo.com)

This is my second pair of Ryka shoes. The fit was really snug at first and I was worried that I had to return it. But the mesh stretches out, so it’s snug in a comfortable way. It fits well (I’m 8 1/2) but my toes tend to get scrunched up during the warm-ups. It’s super light and I really like the style. Here’s another look at my old pair of Ryka running shoes and my broken-in pair:

The gray parts are actually black, they look much nicer in real life!

Day 21/22: Plyometric Cardio Circuit/Cardio Recovery – chilly workout!

I took Saturday off and picked up with my workout Sunday morning, including the next day’s Cardio Recovery workout. The weather’s been cooling off, and at 7 a.m. it was 45 degrees! It’s 60 degrees inside, and I didn’t sweat as much as I normally do but it did feel like I was getting a little light headed. I’m not used to working out in cooler weather, but that’s no reason for me to wimp out…especially if I’m going to stay in shape during the winter!

I’m starting to feel like I’m better at keeping up with Shaun T and the gang, though I still am not nearly as fit as they are. I still need to take breaks during ski abs and in-and-outs because my quads just get incredibly fatigued. And guess what? I lost another pound! My eating plan is working with less calories and more nutrient-dense foods. I have to keep in mind that a calorie is a calorie, so if I give myself a daily allowance I gotta make the most of it, just like the allowances we got as a kid.  Spend it all on candy? Buy some comics? Save some for later? I definitely won’t use my calorie allowance all on candy, but I know I want to invest it in something that will give me future returns, like a stronger body, better concentration, less fatigue, improved health, and a better feeling about myself. And if I have some extra calories…I’ll probably spend them on a little indulgence. :)

Day 23: Pure Cardio & Cardio Abs – tired in the morning, restless at night

I didn’t want to get up this morning. Instead of getting up at 6:30, I slept until 9:30! I was glad that I did, because I was more focused on my work and saved my Insanity workout until the afternoon.

Pure Cardio continues to kick butt, and I still take frequent breaks. Aside from doing better with push-ups (my forearms, shoulders and upper back were aching this morning!) I think I’m getting better with mountain climbers (guava pickers) but still struggling with anything that makes you jump from a squat position.

I had a hard time sleeping, though. I had peanut butter jelly toast & coffee around 10:30am, no lunch (just drinking hot tea,) then had a small bite of something before my workout at 4 pm. I ate a lot for dinner (carrot sticks, cucumbers, chicken tikka & biriyani) and am wondering if it was the food or the late workout that made it difficult to sleep?

One of my favorite dinners: chicken tikka. Chicken marinated in yogurt mixed with tomato paste, coconut milk, Indian spices and other good stuff.

Day 24: Plyometric Cardio Circuit

I did a morning workout, 60 degrees inside and I didn’t start sweating until 7 minutes into the warm up…yes, I was THAT cold! The rest of the workout went well, challenging as always and I had a nice Vanilla Cucumber Smoothie right after. It’s the last day of Month 1, tomorrow begins “Recovery Week” and I’m sure it won’t be a vacation from Insanity. :)

Do it for YOURSELF!  image source: http://pinterest.com/vitacost/fit-spiration/

